Useful Family History Links

Please note you may need to allow 'Pop Ups' for this page to work correctly.

Ancestry.co.uk (www.ancestry.co.uk)
A great place for anyone to start their family tree research

BBC Family History (www.bbc.co.uk/familyhistory)
The BBC website that accompanies the popular Who Do You Think You Are show, gives some good information for getting started with your family history

BeltonMe (www.belton.me.uk)
Family history of the Belton, Salthouse and Hartigan families

Celtic Cousins (www.celticcousins.net)
Some useful help to get you started, is similar to ancestory.com

Direct Gov (www.direct.gov.uk/en/Governmentcitizensandrights/Registeringlifeevents/index.htm)
Uk Government website for registering Births, Marriages and Deaths. You can also order some copies of certificates from here.

FamilyCrest.com(www.familycrestdb.com/Irish/joynt-surname.html)
An online store that specialises in a range of Family Crest goods.

Family Search (www.familysearch.org)
A great site for people researching ancestors in both Iowa and Ireland, Joynt families which emigrated to America are a particularly
strong point.

Find My Past (www.findmypast.com)
Access to a variety of family history records including the England and Wales 1911 census.

Free BMD (www.freebmd.org.uk)
A great free place to start looking for all your Births, Marriages and Deaths

Genes Reunited (www.genesreunited.co.uk/)
A great way to get in touch with people researching different parts of your own family tree

Historic Newspapers (www.historic-newspapers.co.uk)
Find out what was breaking news when your grandparents were born or even the day you were born

Lancashire BMD (www.lancashirebmd.org.uk)
Births, marriages and deaths for the Lancashire area

London Gazette Newspaper (www.london-gazette.co.uk)
Free access to newspaper archives for the London Gazette

National Archives of the UK (www.nationalarchives.gov.uk)
A vast collection of records on both family and military history

National Archives of Ireland (www.nationalarchives.ie)
Holds a wide variety of records relevant to Irish history/genealogy

Other Useful Links

Adobe PDF Reader (www.adobe.com/products/reader)
Get the latest version of Adobe PDF Reader - it's free and you'll need it to view the 'Family Trees' page

Internet Explorer (www.microsoft.com/windows/Internet-explorer/default.aspx)
Get the latest version of Internet Explorer - it's free and this website has been optimised to run on it

Microsoft Windows 7 (www.microsoft.com/uk/windows)
Get the latest version of Windows - this website has been optimised to run on it